MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

Home   >   Faculties   >   Mechanical Engineering

About Us

K. N. Toosi mechanical engineers do not just response to the society’s requirements, they recognize the future needs and innovate for it, and lead to a better destiny. Our programs are to impact the world through a sturdy curriculum, significant research and glorious design experiences.

Our goal is to educate those who are making the world to change.

Our History

The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering was officially established in 1973. It is one of the best known Institution in the country. In 1980, two main departments namely solid mechanics and fluid and heat engineering was formed. In 1993 production and manufacturing engineering was initiated and in 2001, automotive engineering, materials engineering, energy systems departments has been started. Finally, in 2012 based on multidisciplinary cooperation, mechatronics engineering has been established.

Research

With more than 45 faculty members, an annual average of more than 120 international papers, and more than 650 graduate students, the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering is one of the university engines of research and innovation.

Core research areas:

  • Control and Dynamic Systems
  • Robotics
  • Instrumentations
  • Fracture Mechanics
  • Damage Mechanics
  • Biomechanics
  • Soft Computing
  • Fracture Mechanics

Core Research Labs:

  • Research Vibration & Dynamic
  • Robotics, Measurement and Advanced Control
  • Robotics and Control
  • Virtual Reality
  • Neural Network
  • Mechatronics mechanism
  • Composites

Core research areas:

  • Multiphase Flow
  • Numerical Methods
  • CFD
  • Transport Phenomena
  • Porous Media and Complex Fluids
  • Applied Mathematics in Engineering
  • Numerical Simulation of Thermo-Fluid Analysis

Core Research Labs:

  • Design and manufacturing of optimized aerodynamic systems
  • Micro Calories metering
  • Multi Phases flows
  • Turbo machines
  • Environmental engineering
  • Nano technology
  • Fuel cell

Core research areas:

  • Traditional and non-traditional Machining
  • Design of experiments
  • Manufacturing system design
  • CAD/CAM
  • Non-destructive tests
  • Forming and fracture study
  • Manufacturing Executive Systems (MES)
  • Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP)

Core Research Labs:

  • Virtual design and Manufacturing Systems
  • Special Machining
  • Modern shaping
  • Advanced Manufacturing research
  • Non Destructive test
  • Industry 4.0
  • IOT in Manufacturing

Core research areas:

  • Explosive forming
  • Machine tools design
  • Composite Materials
  • Enterprise Resource Planning
  • Additive manufacturing

Core Research Labs:

  • Automotive engineering
  • Advanced Vehicle systems

Core research areas:

  • Cavitation
  • Optimization
  • Power Generation
  • Electrochemical Systems,
  • Renewable Energies
  • Thermal Power Plant
  • Solar Energy

Core Research Labs:

  • Energy and process integration
  • Optimization of energy systems

Core research areas:

  • Assistive Robotics
  • Bio-mechatronic Systems
  • Bio-MEMS
  • Fault Diagnosis
  • Intelligent Systems
  • System Identification
  • Wearable Technologies

Core Research Labs:

  • Fault Detection and Identification Laboratory
  • Mechatronics Laboratory (Electrical Eng.)
  • Mechatronics Laboratory (Mechanical Eng.)
Solid Mechanics

Core research areas:

  • Control and Dynamic Systems
  • Robotics
  • Instrumentations
  • Fracture Mechanics
  • Damage Mechanics
  • Biomechanics
  • Soft Computing
  • Fracture Mechanics

Core Research Labs:

  • Research Vibration & Dynamic
  • Robotics, Measurement and Advanced Control
  • Robotics and Control
  • Virtual Reality
  • Neural Network
  • Mechatronics mechanism
  • Composites
Heat and Fluids

Core research areas:

  • Multiphase Flow
  • Numerical Methods
  • CFD
  • Transport Phenomena
  • Porous Media and Complex Fluids
  • Applied Mathematics in Engineering
  • Numerical Simulation of Thermo-Fluid Analysis

Core Research Labs:

  • Design and manufacturing of optimized aerodynamic systems
  • Micro Calories metering
  • Multi Phases flows
  • Turbo machines
  • Environmental engineering
  • Nano technology
  • Fuel cell
Production and Manufacturing

Core research areas:

  • Traditional and non-traditional Machining
  • Design of experiments
  • Manufacturing system design
  • CAD/CAM
  • Non-destructive tests
  • Forming and fracture study
  • Manufacturing Executive Systems (MES)
  • Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP)

Core Research Labs:

  • Virtual design and Manufacturing Systems
  • Special Machining
  • Modern shaping
  • Advanced Manufacturing research
  • Non Destructive test
  • Industry 4.0
  • IOT in Manufacturing
Automotive Engineering

Core research areas:

  • Explosive forming
  • Machine tools design
  • Composite Materials
  • Enterprise Resource Planning
  • Additive manufacturing

Core Research Labs:

  • Automotive engineering
  • Advanced Vehicle systems
Energy Systems

Core research areas:

  • Cavitation
  • Optimization
  • Power Generation
  • Electrochemical Systems,
  • Renewable Energies
  • Thermal Power Plant
  • Solar Energy

Core Research Labs:

  • Energy and process integration
  • Optimization of energy systems
Mechatronics

Core research areas:

  • Assistive Robotics
  • Bio-mechatronic Systems
  • Bio-MEMS
  • Fault Diagnosis
  • Intelligent Systems
  • System Identification
  • Wearable Technologies

Core Research Labs:

  • Fault Detection and Identification Laboratory
  • Mechatronics Laboratory (Electrical Eng.)
  • Mechatronics Laboratory (Mechanical Eng.)

Prominent Research Areas:

Academics

We believe learning is a collective effort of students, teachers, families and communities to be included in enriched environments, flexible and creative groups. Our professors and students are committed to creating and implementing new educational and technological methods that enhance methods of learning. The following academic programs is offered in the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering.

Programs and Degrees:

BSc MSc PhD
Mechanical engineering Applied Design

Energy Conversion

Manufacturing

Mechatronics

Material Science

Automotive engineering

Applied Design

Energy Conversion

International Joint Programs:

Faculty of Mechanical Engineering of K. N. Toosi University of Technology benefits from its extensive international academic collaborations. The Faculty experienced joint masters’ programs in Energy Systems with Manchester University (United Kingdom) in the past, and University of Waterloo (Canada) at Ph.D. level.

Faculty Members

Faculty MemberFacultyDepartment

Aghanajafi, Cyrus


Cyrus Aghanajafi

Cyrus Aghanajafi
Professor
aghanajafi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Amidpour, Majid


Majid Amidpour

Majid Amidpour
Professor
amidpour@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringEnergy Systems

Asgari, Masoud


Masoud Asgari

Masoud Asgari
Associate Professor
asgari@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringAutomotive Engineering

Ashrafizadeh, Ali


Ali Ashrafizadeh

Ali Ashrafizadeh
Professor
ashrafizadeh@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Azadi, Shahram


Shahram Azadi

Shahram Azadi
Associate Professor
azadi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringAutomotive Engineering

Bazargan, Majid


Majid Bazargan

Majid Bazargan
Associate Professor
bazargan@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Behbahaninia, Ali


Ali Behbahaninia

Ali Behbahaninia
Associate Professor
alibehbahaninia@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringEnergy Systems

Ghaffari, Ali


Ali Ghaffari

Ali Ghaffari
Professor
ghaffari@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Ghajar, Rahmatollah


Rahmatollah Ghajar

Rahmatollah Ghajar
Professor
ghajar@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Ghasemi, Majid


Majid Ghasemi

Majid Ghasemi
Professor
ghasemi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Ghoreishi, Majid


Majid Ghoreishi

Majid Ghoreishi
Professor
ghoreishi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringProduction and Manufacturing

Homaeinezhad, Mohammad Reza


Mohammad Reza Homaeinezhad

Mohammad Reza Homaeinezhad
Assistant Professor
mrhomaeinezhad@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Honarvar, Farhang


Farhang Honarvar

Farhang Honarvar
Professor
honarvar@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringProduction and Manufacturing

Jafari, Ali Asghar


Ali Asghar Jafari

Ali Asghar Jafari
Professor
ajafari@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Jalali Aghchai, Abdolhossien


Abdolhossien Jalali Aghchai

Abdolhossien Jalali Aghchai
Assistant Professor
jalali@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringProduction and Manufacturing

Kazemi, Reza


Reza Kazemi

Reza Kazemi
Professor
kazemi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringAutomotive Engineering

Kazerooni, Mehrdad


Mehrdad Kazerooni

Mehrdad Kazerooni
Assistant Professor
kazerooni@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringProduction and Manufacturing

Keshavarz Valian, Ali


Ali Keshavarz Valian

Ali Keshavarz Valian
Professor
keshavarz@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Khalili, Seyed Mohammad Reza


Seyed Mohammad Reza Khalili

Seyed Mohammad Reza Khalili
Professor
khalili@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Mojra, Afsaneh


Afsaneh Mojra

Afsaneh Mojra
Assistant Professor
mojra@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Moosavian, Seyed Ali Akbar


Seyed Ali Akbar Moosavian

Seyed Ali Akbar Moosavian
Professor
moosavian@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Nahvi, Ali


Ali Nahvi

Ali Nahvi
Assistant Professor
nahvi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Najafi Ardakani, Ali


Ali Najafi Ardakani

Ali Najafi Ardakani
Assistant Professor
najafi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringMechatronics

Najafinobar, Shima


Shima Najafinobar

Shima Najafinobar
Assistant Professor
sh.najafi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringEnergy Systems

Nakhodchi, Soheil


Soheil Nakhodchi

Soheil Nakhodchi
Assistant Professor
SNakhodchi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringProduction and Manufacturing

Naserifar, Naser


Naser Naserifar

Naser Naserifar
Assistant Professor
naserifar@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Pourali, Omid


Omid Pourali

Omid Pourali
Assistant Professor
pourali@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringEnergy Systems

Pouransari, Zeinab


Zeinab Pouransari

Zeinab Pouransari
Assistant Professor
pouransari@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringEnergy Systems

Ravandi, Mohammad


Mohammad Ravandi

Mohammad Ravandi
Assistant Professor
ravandi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Sadati, Seyed Hossein


Seyed Hossein Sadati

Seyed Hossein Sadati
Assistant Professor
sadati@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Sayyadi, Hossein


Hossein Sayyadi

Hossein Sayyadi
Associate Professor
sayyaadi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringEnergy Systems

Seddighi, Sadegh


Sadegh Seddighi

Sadegh Seddighi
Assistant Professor
sadegh.seddighi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Shadaram, Abdollah


Abdollah Shadaram

Abdollah Shadaram
Associate Professor
shadaram@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Shahani, Amir Reza


Amir Reza Shahani

Amir Reza Shahani
Professor
shahani@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringSolid Mechanics

Shahidian, Azadeh


Azadeh Shahidian

Azadeh Shahidian
Assistant Professor
shahidian@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Shahnazari, Mohammad Reza


Mohammad Reza Shahnazari

Mohammad Reza Shahnazari
Associate Professor
shahnazari@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Shamekhi, Amir Hossein


Amir Hossein Shamekhi

Amir Hossein Shamekhi
Associate Professor
shamekhi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringAutomotive Engineering

Shams, Mehrzad


Mehrzad Shams

Mehrzad Shams
Professor
shams@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Shariyat, Mohammad


Mohammad Shariyat

Mohammad Shariyat
Professor
shariyat@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringAutomotive Engineering

Soltani, Majid


Majid Soltani

Majid Soltani
Assistant Professor
msoltani@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Taghavipour, Amir


Amir Taghavipour

Amir Taghavipour
Assistant Professor
taghavi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringAutomotive Engineering

Torabi, Farshad


Farshad Torabi

Farshad Torabi
Associate Professor
ftorabi@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringEnergy Systems

Vahdati, Mehrdad


Mehrdad Vahdati

Mehrdad Vahdati
Associate Professor
vahdati@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringProduction and Manufacturing

Zamani, Jamal


Jamal Zamani

Jamal Zamani
Professor
zamani@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringProduction and Manufacturing

Zamanipedram, Mona


Mona Zamanipedram

Mona Zamanipedram
Assistant Professor
m.zpedram@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringEnergy Systems

Ziabasharhagh, Masoud


Masoud Ziabasharhagh

Masoud Ziabasharhagh
Professor
mzia@kntu.ac.ir

Mechanical EngineeringHeat and Fluids

Contact Us

Address: Faculty of Mechanical Engineering,

No. 17- Pardis Ave., Mollasadra St., Vanak Square, Tehran, Iran

Telephone: +98-21-8867-4747 

Fax: +98-21-8867-4748

P.O.Box: 19395-19919 

Postal Code: 19991-43344