CIVIL ENGINEERING

Home   >   Faculties   >   Civil Engineering

About Us

 Educational and research activities of Civil Engineering in KNTU began in 1954. Since the establishment of KNTU, the Faculty of Civil Engineering has undergone many changes and developments to the extent that, at present, it is regarded as one of the most competitive faculties offering a wide range of civil engineering specialties.

Our History

Since the establishment of KNTU, the Faculty of Civil Engineering has undergone many changes and developments to the extent that, at present, it is regarded as one of the most competitive faculties offering a wide range of civil engineering specialties. Educational and research activities of Civil Engineering in KNTU began in 1954, while now the Faculty is home of nine departments, namely Structural, Earthquake, Geotechnical, Hydraulic structures and water, Environmental, Management resources, Road traffic and transportation, coastal, ports and offshore structures, and construction engineering and management.

Research

Educational and research activities of Civil Engineering is performed in nine departments, namely Structural, Earthquake, Geotechnical, Hydraulic structures and water, Environmental, Management resources, Road traffic and transportation, coastal, ports and offshore structures, and construction engineering and management. The main research areas are:

Water Engineering Research Areas:

  • Ability to provide short and long term training courses in various fields of water engineering
  • Ability to carry out research work in the field of Watershed Management and Sediment Control
  • Designing and managing reservoirs
  • Preparation of hydraulic models of aquatic areas
  • Study of water resources, including surface water and underground waters
  • Estimate the potential of water
  • Design and calculate water, sewage and irrigation networks
  • Analyze the storms and determine the intensity curves
  • Water Quality Analysis

Earthquake Engineering Research Areas:

  • Provide short-term training courses for consulting companies in the field of earthquake engineering
  • Provide short and long term training courses for civil engineers on the design of buildings against earthquakes.
  • To carry out research projects in the field of Strengthening of special structures such as tall structures, bridges and marine structures
  • Perform hazard analysis and earthquake risk management projects
  • Perform various dynamic tests on buildings, existing structures and obtaining dynamic properties of buildings.
  • Examining different functional levels of different types of structures using nonlinear advanced software
  • Collaboration and consulting in the analysis and design of specific structures, including high structures, dams, coastal structures, offshore platforms and earthquake cooling towers
  • Performing Hybrid Simulation Tests

Road and Transportation Engineering Research Areas:

  • To hold short courses in the field of asphalt and concrete pavement design, design and pavement of airports and ports, road management and maintenance, railway design and construction, granite engineering, traffic safety, geometric design of roads
  • Design and manufacture of test equipment for determining the resistance of asphalt mixtures to fatigue
  • Research on the design and implementation of roller concrete in pavement of the country
  • Research in the field of laboratory methods for controlling cracks caused by loading and presenting a model of prediction of fatigue cracking asphalt pavement of roads in the country
  • Investigating the speed of trains on Iranian railways
  • Research on traffic safety of transportation systems
  • Surveying Surface Pavement (Roughness, Resistance to Slippery …)
  • Research on road maintenance management system, including HOM-4
Water Engineering

Water Engineering Research Areas:

  • Ability to provide short and long term training courses in various fields of water engineering
  • Ability to carry out research work in the field of Watershed Management and Sediment Control
  • Designing and managing reservoirs
  • Preparation of hydraulic models of aquatic areas
  • Study of water resources, including surface water and underground waters
  • Estimate the potential of water
  • Design and calculate water, sewage and irrigation networks
  • Analyze the storms and determine the intensity curves
  • Water Quality Analysis
Earthquake Engineering

Earthquake Engineering Research Areas:

  • Provide short-term training courses for consulting companies in the field of earthquake engineering
  • Provide short and long term training courses for civil engineers on the design of buildings against earthquakes.
  • To carry out research projects in the field of Strengthening of special structures such as tall structures, bridges and marine structures
  • Perform hazard analysis and earthquake risk management projects
  • Perform various dynamic tests on buildings, existing structures and obtaining dynamic properties of buildings.
  • Examining different functional levels of different types of structures using nonlinear advanced software
  • Collaboration and consulting in the analysis and design of specific structures, including high structures, dams, coastal structures, offshore platforms and earthquake cooling towers
  • Performing Hybrid Simulation Tests
Road & Transportation

Road and Transportation Engineering Research Areas:

  • To hold short courses in the field of asphalt and concrete pavement design, design and pavement of airports and ports, road management and maintenance, railway design and construction, granite engineering, traffic safety, geometric design of roads
  • Design and manufacture of test equipment for determining the resistance of asphalt mixtures to fatigue
  • Research on the design and implementation of roller concrete in pavement of the country
  • Research in the field of laboratory methods for controlling cracks caused by loading and presenting a model of prediction of fatigue cracking asphalt pavement of roads in the country
  • Investigating the speed of trains on Iranian railways
  • Research on traffic safety of transportation systems
  • Surveying Surface Pavement (Roughness, Resistance to Slippery …)
  • Research on road maintenance management system, including HOM-4

Prominent Research Labs:

Academics

The Faculty of Civil Engineering offers B.Sc, M.Sc and PhD  programs in its diverse fields of study. The educational programs at the faculty aims to present new horizons of education and research to a civil engineering who wants to promote his/her career. Faculty of Civil Engineering comprises of nine academic departments and offers the following programs:

Programs and Degrees:

BSc MSc PhD
Civil Engineering Structural Engineering

Earthquake Engineering

Geotechnical Engineering,

Water Engineering and Hydraulic Structures

Environmental Engineering

Water Resources Engineering and  Management

Road-Traffic  and transportation

Coastal, ports and offshore structures Engineering

Construction Engineering and Management.

Structural Engineering

Earthquake Engineering

Geotechnical Engineering,

Water Engineering and Hydraulic Structures

Environmental Engineering

Water Resources Engineering and  Management

Road-Traffic  and transportation

Coastal, ports and offshore structures Engineering

E-Learning Programs:

Faculty of Civil Engineering of K. N. Toosi University of Technology offers the following programs through electronic learning:

  • Environmental courses
  • Solid waste management
  • Environmental geotechnical
  • Water treatment and sewage treatment
  • Modeling Surface Water Contamination
  • Modeling Groundwater Pollution
  • Soft computing in the environment
  • Numerical calculations in the environment

Faculty Members

Faculty MemberFacultyDepartment

Abbasianjahromi, Hamidreza


Hamidreza Abbasianjahromi

Hamidreza Abbasianjahromi
Assistant Professor
habasian@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringConstruction Engineering and Management

Abdi, Mahmood Reza


Mahmood Reza Abdi

Mahmood Reza Abdi
Associate Professor
abdi@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringGeotechnical Engineering

Asadi, Roza


Roza Asadi

Roza Asadi
Assistant Professor
asadi@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Resources

Asgarian, Behrooz


Behrooz Asgarian

Behrooz Asgarian
Professor
asgarian@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEarthquake Engineering

Asil Gharebaghi, Saeed


Saeed Asil Gharebaghi

Saeed Asil Gharebaghi
Assistant Professor
asil@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Bagheri, Alireza


Alireza Bagheri

Alireza Bagheri
Associate Professor
bagheri@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringConstruction Engineering and Management

Barani Lenbani, Omied Reza


Omied Reza Barani Lenbani

Omied Reza Barani Lenbani
Assistant Professor
barani@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringGeotechnical Engineering

Bazargan, Alireza


Alireza Bazargan

Alireza Bazargan
Assistant Professor
arbazargan@gmail.com

Civil EngineeringEnvironmental Engineering

Beheshti Avval, Seyed Bahram


Seyed Bahram Beheshti Avval

Seyed Bahram Beheshti Avval
Associate Professor
beheshti@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Borhani Darian, Alireza


Alireza Borhani Darian

Alireza Borhani Darian
Professor
borhani@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Resources

Boudaghpour, Siyamak


Siyamak Boudaghpour

Siyamak Boudaghpour
Assistant Professor
bodaghpour@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEnvironmental Engineering

Delfani, Mohammad Rasoul


Mohammad Rasoul Delfani

Mohammad Rasoul Delfani
Assistant Professor
delfani@kntu.ac.ir 

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Edrisi, Ali


Ali Edrisi

Ali Edrisi
Assistant Professor
edrisi@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringRoad and Transportation

Ehteshami, Majid


Majid Ehteshami

Majid Ehteshami
Associate Professor
ehteshami@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEnvironmental Engineering

Fakhri, Mansor


Mansor Fakhri

Mansor Fakhri
Associate Professor
fakhri@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringRoad and Transportation

Fanaei, Nader


Nader Fanaei

Nader Fanaei
Associate Professor
fanaie@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Ghasemzadeh, Hasan


Hasan Ghasemzadeh

Hasan Ghasemzadeh
Associate Professor
ghasemzadeh@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringGeotechnical Engineering

Ghazavi, Mahmood


Mahmood Ghazavi

Mahmood Ghazavi
Professor
ghaza@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringGeotechnical Engineering

Gholizadeh vayghan, Asghar


Asghar Gholizadeh vayghan

Asghar Gholizadeh vayghan
Assistant Professor
gholizadeh@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Haji Hossienloo, Mansour


Mansour Haji Hossienloo

Mansour Haji Hossienloo
Associate Professor
mansour@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringRoad and Transportation

Hejazi, Kourosh


Kourosh Hejazi

Kourosh Hejazi
Assistant Professor
hejazik@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Engineering

Kalantari, Farzien


Farzien Kalantari

Farzien Kalantari
Assistant Professor
fz_kalantary@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringGeotechnical Engineering

Karami Mohammadi, Reza


Reza Karami Mohammadi

Reza Karami Mohammadi
Associate Professor
rkarami@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEarthquake Engineering

Kavianpour, Mohammad Reza


Mohammad Reza Kavianpour

Mohammad Reza Kavianpour
Professor
kavianpour@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Engineering

Khalifehloo, Seyed Akbar


Seyed Akbar Khalifehloo

Seyed Akbar Khalifehloo
Lecturer
khalifehloo@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Khanalipour Varzani, Mahdi


Mahdi Khanalipour Varzani

Mahdi Khanalipour Varzani
Lecturer
khanalipour@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringConstruction Engineering and Management

Khoshand, Afshin


Afshin Khoshand

Afshin Khoshand
Assistant Professor
khoshand@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEnvironmental Engineering

Kiani, Kyvan


Kyvan Kiani

Kyvan Kiani
Associate Professor
k_kiani@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Mahjori Majd, Najmeh


Najmeh Mahjori Majd

Najmeh Mahjori Majd
Associate Professor
mahjouri@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Resources

Masoudi, Mostafa


Mostafa Masoudi

Mostafa Masoudi
Assistant Professor
mmasoudi@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEarthquake Engineering

Memarian, Mahsa


Mahsa Memarian

Mahsa Memarian
Assistant Professor
memarian@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEnvironmental Engineering

Mirbagheri Fieroozabadi, Seyed Ahmad


Seyed Ahmad Mirbagheri Fieroozabadi

Seyed Ahmad Mirbagheri Fieroozabadi
Professor
mirbagheri@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEnvironmental Engineering

Mirtaheri, Seyed Masoud


Seyed Masoud Mirtaheri

Seyed Masoud Mirtaheri
Associate Professor
mmirtaheri@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEarthquake Engineering

Mirza Bozorg, Hasan


Hasan Mirza Bozorg

Hasan Mirza Bozorg
Associate Professor
mirzabozorg@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Moghadas Tafreshi, Seyed Naser


Seyed Naser Moghadas Tafreshi

Seyed Naser Moghadas Tafreshi
Professor
nas_moghaddas@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringGeotechnical Engineering

Monajjem, Mohammad Saeid


Mohammad Saeid Monajjem

Mohammad Saeid Monajjem
Associate Professor
monajjem@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringRoad and Transportation

Mousavi, Seyed Morteza


Seyed Morteza Mousavi

Seyed Morteza Mousavi
Assistant Professor
m_mousavi@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Resources

Nasrollahzadeh Nashli, Kurosh


Kurosh Nasrollahzadeh Nashli

Kurosh Nasrollahzadeh Nashli
Assistant Professor
nasrollahzadeh@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Rahimzadegan, Majid


Majid Rahimzadegan

Majid Rahimzadegan
Assistant Professor
rahimzadegan@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Resources

Rezvani Sharief, Mostafa


Mostafa Rezvani Sharief

Mostafa Rezvani Sharief
Assistant Professor
barghi@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Sabagh Yazdi, Saeid Reza


Saeid Reza Sabagh Yazdi

Saeid Reza Sabagh Yazdi
Professor
syazdi@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Sabour, Mohammad Reza


Mohammad Reza Sabour

Mohammad Reza Sabour
Associate Professor
sabour@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEnvironmental Engineering

Sabouri Ghomi, Saeid


Saeid Sabouri Ghomi

Saeid Sabouri Ghomi
Professor
sabouri@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEarthquake Engineering

Shamloo, Hamied


Hamied Shamloo

Hamied Shamloo
Associate Professor
hshamloo@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Engineering

Soltanpour, Mohsen


Mohsen Soltanpour

Mohsen Soltanpour
Professor
soltanpour@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Engineering

Soroushian, Siavash


Siavash Soroushian

Siavash Soroushian
Assistant Professor
ssorooshian@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEarthquake Engineering

Vafaei, Feraydoon


Feraydoon Vafaei

Feraydoon Vafaei
Associate Professor
fvafai@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEnvironmental Engineering

Yahyaei, Mahmood


Mahmood Yahyaei

Mahmood Yahyaei
Professor
yahyai@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEarthquake Engineering

Yekeh Yazdandoost, Farhad


Farhad Yekeh Yazdandoost

Farhad Yekeh Yazdandoost
Associate Professor
yazdandoost@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringWater Engineering

Zandi, Amir Peyman


Amir Peyman Zandi

Amir Peyman Zandi
Lecturer
a.zandi@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Zeinoddini, Mostafa


Mostafa Zeinoddini

Mostafa Zeinoddini
Professor
zeinoddini@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringStructural Science

Zolfaghari, Mohammad Reza


Mohammad Reza Zolfaghari

Mohammad Reza Zolfaghari
Associate Professor
mzolfaghari@kntu.ac.ir

Civil EngineeringEarthquake Engineering

Contact Us

Address: Faculty of Civil Engineering, K.N. Toosi University of Technology,

No. 1346, Valiasr Street,  Mirdamad Intersection, Tehran, Iran.

Postal Code: 19967-15433

P. O. Box: 15875-4416

Tel: +98-21-8877-9474 to 5

E-mail:  infoce@kntu.ac.ir